At last, a black bean burger worth blogging about!

You may have wondered (probably not, but maybe you have) why I have been blogging meatless Fridays (not to mention a nearly meatless Lent) for over a year now, and yet I still have not shared a recipe for that vegan/vegetarian staple, the black bean burger.  That is because every black bean burger recipe I’ve tried has tasted more like a breadcrumb burger with the token bean thrown in for legal purposes.  Alas, wonder no more.  We have, somewhat accidentally, discovered black bean millet burgers .

This coming Monday, we are hosting an International Lunch in celebration of International Education Week.  Middle dumpling wanted to make something with millet–not because of a country that fascinates her, mind you, but because our pet cockatiel’s favorite snack is millet.  So she picked Egypt based on our bird’s version of crack cocaine.  So now I have this five pound sack of millet sitting around my kitchen.  Thus we had slow cooker millet porridge for breakfast (meh–it’s okay).  I’ll be making food processor millet flour this weekend, which will then become millet bread on Monday.  So that leaves us with about 4.5 pounds of millet remaining, hurrah.  Google came through again this morning with the recipe linked above, couretsy of No Meat Athlete.

The only changes I made to the recipe was using a blend of olive and corn oil because, come on, grapeseed oil?  I’m not made of money here.  Also, I used less oil than the recipe seems to suggest.  Shocking, I know.  I’m like a Catholic Paula Deen over here.  I fried the patties on a cast iron skillet and I think that got them crispy enough without the extra oil.  Next time I make them, I’ll actually do them the same way I make our baked falafel.

We served these with a recipe for baked sweet potato fries that I found on Pinterest a few weeks ago.  This is the second time we made this recipe, and it’s the first time I pre-soaked the sweet potato slices for ten hours, changing the water once.  I think that made a good difference. The first time, with a soak of about 2 hours, they were crisp and tasty.  This time, with the longer soak and the changing of the water, they were “ohmygoodness, I have to sit down, oh wait, I’m already sitting down” good.

Overall, this was one of the more wonderful Friday night meals we’ve had in a very, very, very long time.  The one drawback:  this was very, very, very labor intensive.  There was a lot more slicing and mixing and mashing and shaking and standing and standing and standing and flipping things than I will usually subject myself to.  The only reason this worked for us tonight is that Second Shift took a later nap than usual and Mr. Mackerelsnapper came home about an hour early.  I’d like to make the burgers again, but I do think next time I’ll bake up the first half of the batch then freeze the second half for another, busier day.

Because of all the work involved in dinner, we did not get to make a dessert in honor of The Feast of St. John Lateran.  So, go make yourself some Golden City Marshmallows, appreciate the Church as people and value the beauty of the churches we share as people.

About Erin McCole Cupp
Erin is a wife, mom and lay Dominican who lives in the middle of Nowhere, Pennsylvania. Find out more about her novels and her other projects at erinmccolecupp.com .

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

