Lent 2014: The Leftovers Lent

No, this year’s challenge is not surviving on leftovers for 40 days (though that would be interesting). I started this blog as a way to get myself back in the discipline of writing on a regular basis: just once a week, I told myself, might get me back in the daily groove. Once a week for God, and maybe that would open up enough of a crack in the door for the writing grace to walk back in and spend a little time with me. The good news is that it worked.

The bad news for this blog is that my fiction career, piddling though it may be, is demanding what spare time I have.

But it’s still Lent. I still have to cook, and we’re still going Pre-VII-style meatless. The blogging of it, however, will be extremely limited. This year will be a “best of” with a few new recipes thrown in. For instance, in the event our mint comes back enough before Easter, I really want to make samosas with mint chutney.

File:Samosachutney.jpg

For tonight, however, we’re pulling out a family favorite: Slow Roasted Potato Leek Soup.

20140305-160509.jpg

No, that doesn’t look slow roasted to me, either. I had to hurry things along because the slow cooker was otherwise engaged first thing this morning making a batch of veggie stock. So, if you’re in a rush, you, too, can soften your leeks in butter then soften them some more with the diced potatoes in the recipe’s 2 c veggie stock before adding it to your slow cooker.

We’re serving it with our… Homemade Beer Bread

20140305-160711.jpg

3 c flour
1 T baking powder
1/2 T salt
1 T sugar
120z bottle of beer
Optional: 1/4 c butter

Grease two loaf pans. Preheat oven to 400F. Mix flour, baking powder, salt, sugar and beer together and divide between loaf pans. Slice butter into pats and place on top. Bake at 400F for 35 minutes or until a knife inserted in center comes out clean.

About Erin McCole Cupp
Erin is a wife, mom and lay Dominican who lives in the middle of Nowhere, Pennsylvania. Find out more about her novels and her other projects at erinmccolecupp.com .

9 Responses to Lent 2014: The Leftovers Lent

  1. Pingback: Lent 2014: The Leftovers Lent | Will Write for Tomato Pie

  2. franciscanmom says:

    Looks good! Grilled-cheese sandwiches and New England clam chowder here!

    • You know, I’ve never made clam chowder! I hope yours was delish. Do you have a recipe? (If it was canned, I don’t judge or anything, I was just curious.)

      • franciscanmom says:

        I have used this recipe before with good results. http://sfomomfridge.blogspot.com/2009/06/breezies-legendary-clam-chowder.html
        I was TRYING to re-work it for the slow cooker, but that turned out to be way more trouble than just making it stove-top. I won’t bother with that again.
        I omitted the bacon for Lent, and didn’t use the “fake crab” this time either. Also, I added carrots and corn. Not authentic but it was really good.
        Normally we get the Campbell’s Chunky New England Clam Chowder. I think Hubs likes the canned better…

  3. Beth says:

    I was looking forward to your lent bloggings! so making that beer bread as soon as we get beer.

    • Thanks! You probably already know this, but don’t use Guinness for the bread if you’re going vegan. There’s some sort of fish gall in there. Yum.

      • franciscanmom says:

        Guinness in beer bread gives you a VERY yeasty, heavy result. I get better results with lager or an IPA.

  4. I actually love Guinness bread, so YMMV.

  5. Pingback: Rice, Rice Baby | Mrs. Mackerelsnapper, OP

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

