Just for Muppett: Gingerbread Rice Pudding

First, a “Wednesday Dessert” question, now that I know complete strangers are reading Mrs. Mackerelsnapper (yo, whuddup?):  are there any other families out there who are making new traditions and routines to fit family mealtime into a schedule and culture that would otherwise keep us away from the shared table? 

Okay, that being asked… After finding out last week’s super-hypoallergenic Gingerbread Applesauce Cake wasn’t sensitive to the needs of those living gluten-free, including a dear friend from college, it became time to rise to the challenge of making something out of brown rice.  The first obstacle:  we didn’t own brown rice.  I know, Bad Mommy.  I LOVE brown rice… but I’m the only one living here who does, so I just get my brown rice fix with brown rice takeout sushi and such.  Which brings me to the second obstacle:  how to get brown rice past my husband and my kids (two of the latter having texture issues) and make it seem like dessert.  Hmmm.  Luckily, it’s the turning of the year: the time for nutmeg, cinnamon, clove and molasses.  So far, if I’ve been able to get applesauce into them by calling it “gingerbread,” I’m hoping I can get brown rice into them by calling it…

Gingerbread Rice Pudding

2 c cooked brown rice (Yes, white/jasmine is fine–this is just in response to a request for a brown rice dessert)
1 12oz can evaporated milk (Yes, you can use soy milk, rice milk, hemp milk, goat, giraffe…you get the idea)
1/3 c mild molasses
1 tablespoon packed brown sugar (Why?  It just called to me.)
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg (We grate our own, so I just eyed this up.)
1/4 tsp ground ginger (If you’re using fresh, I’d use less.  In fact, not sure I’d use fresh for a dish this mellow.)
a pinch ground cloves
a pinch of Kosher salt
4 tsp (yeah, you read that right) pure vanilla extract

Mix it all together then dump it in the slow cooker on high 2-3 hours, low 4-6 hours.  Serve warm or chill 4-6 hours before serving.  Over here, I mixed it up yesterday and left it in the refrigerator overnight.  This morning I put it in the mini-crock as soon as lunches were packed.  When we get home from morning Mass, swim lessons and shopping, I’m going to check it, by which I mean taste-test.  I’ll have to take that one for the team, but that’s me.  I’m a giver. If it’s soft and creamy enough, I’ll put it in the fridge to chill for post-choir dessert night.   I’ll probably heat mine a bit because I like rice pudding juuuuust a teensy bit warm. 

I confess I already tasted the “raw” pudding yesterday, just to make sure the spices were right.  Love.  In fact, bless me readers, for I have sprinkled Sugar in the Raw on plain old brown rice…and it was good.

About Erin McCole Cupp
Erin McCole Cupp is a wife, mother, and lay Dominican who lives with her family of vertebrates somewhere out in the middle of Nowhere, Pennsylvania. Her short writing has appeared in Canticle Magazine, The Catholic Standard and Times, Parents, The Philadelphia City Paper, The White Shoe Irregular, Outer Darkness Magazine, and the newsletter of her children’s playgroup. She is a contributor to CatholicMom.com and has been a guest blogger for the Catholic Writers Guild. Her other professional experiences include acting, costuming, youth ministry, international scholar advising, and waiting tables. When Erin is not writing, cooking or parenting, she can be found reading, singing a bit too loudly, sewing for people she loves, gardening in spite of herself, or dragging loved ones to visitors centers at tourist spots around the country. Find out more about her novels and other projects at erinmccolecupp.com .

3 Responses to Just for Muppett: Gingerbread Rice Pudding

  1. Jess says:

    http://learninglemurs.blogspot.com/2011/10/awesomesauce-cake-ii.html is the cake I made for E’s birthday (gluten free, dairy free, but does have eggs). I’m betting you could replace some of the applesauce (or other liquid) with molasses, spice it appropriately, and it would work. I’d try it, but we have no molasses. Or anymore coconut flour, now that I think about it. Ah well.

  2. Pingback: Communion of Saints Flower Meadow Cake « Mrs. Mackerelsnapper, OP

Leave a Reply

