Two weeks and two days late for others Tuesday

Serve others in Christ's name1. Action Saints from Kolbe Film School: At the CMN conference in August, the guy at the Action Saints booth was kind enough to give me a St. Michael the Archangel action figure for my kids to review for this blog in spite of the fact that I don’t have more than 200 followers. Okay, ouch, but I understand where they’re coming from: they have limited resources and need to be selective. So I did understand that this was a generous gift to the kids of a nobody in the blogosphere. I appreciate his honesty, so I hope he appreciates mine.

I brought it home and gave it to the toddler with First Shift looking on. Toddler isn’t super verbal, but her review upon sight was, “I no liiiike it.” She doesn’t like wearing clothes or eating with utensils, either: that doesn’t mean those things are bad. Then First Shift handled him, chiming in with phrases like, “His hair looks funny,” “Only his sword wrist moves,” “He won’t stay standing up,” and “He’s made in China.”

Eager to promote our Catholic faith as being just as natural as breathing, play, and eating with utensils, I refused to let First or Second Shift daunt me. When a toy isn’t “working,” just add water.

20121025-172217.jpg     20121025-172237.jpg

St. Michael enjoyed his bath and then went to bed wrapped in a snug dish towel. The next day was Sunday, so I asked Second Shift if she wanted to bring St. Michael to Mass. Alas, she broke out in sobs, adamantly insisting, “Noooooo, I no liiiiiike iiiiiiiiit!” What’s more baffling: the St. Michael Action Saint was nowhere to be found after we returned from Mass that day.

I was initially excited to bring my kids a real Catholic toy but was disappointed with this one; maybe not as disappointed as Second Shift, but I’ve learned to be more easily satisfied over the years. However, I do hope the folks at Kolbe Film School will continue developing this idea until it is more child-friendly. Please! Somebody think of the children! It looks like they’re coming out with Three Kings for Christmastime. I hope they beta-tested them first on kids who aren’t related to the designers. Know what I mean?

2.Murder in the Vatican: The Church Mysteries of Sherlock Holmes by Ann Margaret Lewis I’m closing with this so I can end on a rave review. I read this about a year ago within 24 hours, stopping briefly to sleep. Loved it. Pope Leo XIII as an action hero–what’s not to love? Buy and read.

 

About Erin McCole Cupp
Erin McCole Cupp is a wife, mother, and lay Dominican who lives with her family of vertebrates somewhere out in the middle of Nowhere, Pennsylvania. Her short writing has appeared in Canticle Magazine, The Catholic Standard and Times, Parents, The Philadelphia City Paper, The White Shoe Irregular, Outer Darkness Magazine, and the newsletter of her children’s playgroup. She is a contributor to CatholicMom.com and has been a guest blogger for the Catholic Writers Guild. Her other professional experiences include acting, costuming, youth ministry, international scholar advising, and waiting tables. When Erin is not writing, cooking or parenting, she can be found reading, singing a bit too loudly, sewing for people she loves, gardening in spite of herself, or dragging loved ones to visitors centers at tourist spots around the country. Find out more about her novels and other projects at erinmccolecupp.com .

One Response to Two weeks and two days late for others Tuesday

  1. LOL! I love the title! I was wondering where you’d gotten to…..hadn’t seen you in a while. Ah, life. It does get in the way of blogging, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

